Awards & Juries

Over the years we have screened many outstanding films by brave and artistic voices at RIFF. The ones that show artistic excellence and break boundaries will win awards. The films in our New Visions section will compete for the most acclaimed award of the festival:  The Golden Puffin, whose recipient will be named Discovery of the Year. 

An award will be also given the most outstanding film in the documentary competition section A Different Tomorrow.

Short films from the participants in the Talent Lab will compete for the Golden Egg.

And we also award the best of our national cinema with our Best Icelandic Short and the Best International Short in our International Shorts competitive section.

RIFF 2021

Discovery of the Year: The Golden Puffin

The films in our competitive category New Visions are all debut or sophomore efforts. One will be named Discovery of the Year and receive the Golden Puffin.



Yorgos Krassakopoulos

Head of Programming Thessaloniki Film Festival

Head of Programming at the Thessaloniki International Film Festival and the Thessaloniki Documentary Film Festival.


Trine Dyrholm


Actress, singer, and songwriter, known for her roles in Queen of Hearts and In a Better World. RIFF’s guest of honour and head of jury.

Gagga Jons

Gagga Jóns


Filmmaker and director of Stitch n’ Bitch.

Anita Briem (1)

Anita Briem


Actress and scriptwriter, known for Journey to the Center of Earth and The Minister.


Gísli Örn Garðarsson


Actor, director and producer at Vesturport.

Best Icelandic Short and Best Icelandic Student Short

In this competitive category one director receives a prize for the Best Icelandic Short. The jury gives out another award for the Best Icelandic Student Short.


Nathalie Mierop2

Nathalie Mierop

Promotion Manager Feature Films at SEE NL

Promotion Manager Feature Film at SEE NL.

Thora Clausen

Þóra Björg Clausen

Head or Programming and Acquisitions

Head of Programming and Acquisitions for Icelandic media network Channel 2.

Producer Anton Máni Svansson_Photo_by_Bryndís Helgadóttir_edited

Anton Máni Svansson

Producer at Joint Motion Pictures

Producer at Join Motion Pictures.

A Different Tomorrow Award

The films in A Different Tomorrow shed light on environmental and humanitarian topics because, sometimes, the right film can change the world. The most outstanding groundbreaking film in this section will be receive our A Different Tomorrow Award.



Guillaume Calop

Les Arcs

Co-creator and general manager of Les Arcs Film Festival.

Marie Zeniter

Marie Zeniter


International Sales Manager at Magnolia Films

Silja Hauksdóttir kvikmyndaleikstjóri

Silja Hauksdóttir


Director, known for the film Agnes Joy.

Best International Short

With urgency and determination, the talented filmmakers in this section make us travel beyond the borders of reality, expanding the scope of our imagination, reinventing cinema within every frame. The bravest voice will be awarded our Best International Short.


Sonja 2

Sonja Wyss


Filmmaker, her film Farewell Paradise is part of the RIFF 2021.


Ninna Pálmadóttir


An up-and-coming director, her short All Dogs Die was part of Karlovy Vary and RIFF in 2020.


Óskar Páll


Filmmaker and owner of production company Yoda films.


The Golden Egg Competition is a selection of films from up-and-coming directors participating in the 2021 RIFF Talent Lab.


Vincent Boy Kars

Vincent Boy Kars


Vincent Boy Kars (1990) is a Rotterdam-based filmmaker currently working on his millennial trilogy, in which he experiments with the borders between fiction and reality.

Halldora Geirhardsdottir (1)

Halldora Geirharðs


Halldóra Geirharðsdóttir is a celebrated Icelandic actress, a theatre director and a Professor of drama studies at the Arts University of Iceland.

runar runarsson

Rúnar Rúnarsson


Rúnar Rúnarsson is well established Icelandic director. Rúnar burst into the scene with the Oscar-nominated short film, The Last Farm.

The Young People´s Jury

The Young People’s Jury selects a film in our competitive category, New Visions, which are all debut or sophomore efforts.



Katla Gunnarsdóttir

The Icelandic Film School

Scriptwriting and Directing student


Kolbrún Óskarsdóttir

Commercial College of Iceland

Innovation and Arts student


Markús Logi Gunnarsson

Reykjavik Junior College

Natural Science student


Sigtýr Ægir Kárason

Iceland University of the Arts

Architecture BA student


Snædís Björnsdóttir

University of Iceland

Comparative Literature undergraduate student