Awards and Juries

Over the years we have screened many outstanding films by brave and artistic voices at RIFF. The ones that show artistic excellence and break boundaries will win awards. The films in our New Visions section will compete for the most acclaimed award of the festival:  The Golden Puffin, whose recipient will be named Discovery of the Year. 

An award will be also given the most outstanding film in the documentary competition section A Different Tomorrow.

Short films from the participants in the Talent Lab will compete for the Golden Egg.

And we also award the best of our national cinema with our Best Icelandic Short and the Best International Short in our International Shorts competitive section.

Discovery of the Year: The Golden Puffin

The films in our competitive category New Visions are all debut or sophomore efforts. One will be named Discovery of the Year and receive the Golden Puffin.


Shahrbanoo Sadat

Shahrbanoo Sadat

Afghan filmmaker

Jan Naszewski

Jan Naszewski

CEO of the New Europe Film Sales

Ísold Uggadóttir

Ísold Uggadóttir

Icelandic filmmaker

Best Icelandic Short and Best Icelandic Student Short

In this competitive category one director will get the prize of the Best Icelandic Short. The jury also awards the best Icelandic Student Short this year.



Þóra Sigríður Ingólfsdóttir

Director of the Icelandic National Film Archive


Júlíus Kemp

Icelandic filmmaker


Carlos Madrid

Festival director at the Cinema Jove

A Different Tomorrow Award



Margrét Jónasdóttir

Icelandic producer


Simon Brook

British filmmaker and producer


Sunna Nousuniemi

Sámi filmmaker